Scarf Belt

I put together a great light-coloured spring outfit today and I just didn’t have the right belt to pull it together. They were all too dark or thin but I needed something because this skirt is kind of old and a little too big for me. I had almost given up and was ready to do a last-minute 8am change when I remembered this post from Academichic. These ladies were the queens of belting things, I’m really sad they are no longer updating their site.

So I gave it a go, it turned out alright but you can still tell that the skirt is a little big. That plus the fact that it’s over 5 years old and designed to sit lower on the hips didn’t make for the most flattering silhouette. But hey, I tried. You win some, you lose some.

Blazer ~ Aritzia, $125, here. Blouse, $29 (sale) and scarf, $18, RW&Co. Skirt, ancient, American Eagle. Tights, Gap. Shoes, $25 (sale), Sears

I really like the idea of using a scarf as a belt and any other alternative uses for accessories. I will definitely be trying this again, maybe finishing with a bow instead of tucking the ends like I did here. That sounds more girly and me anyway.

One thought on “Scarf Belt

  1. Wonderful blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed
    in this article? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get comments from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

