What is appropriate? Leggings

Sorting my wardrobe into “teacher appropriate” and “inappropriate” is not as easy as I thought it would be.  For starters, I sorted out all of the obvious “inappropriate” pieces: skirts and dresses that are too short, tops that are too low-cut, jeans, anything too casual.  But after that, the cuts started to get harder.  “Is this too tight?” “Is sleeveless okay?” “Is this pattern too juvenile?” These questions are all pretty subjective.  I know that erring on the side of caution is the best way to go but I don’t want to be too cautious and end up being boring.  There are some items that I’m on the fence about, but maybe if I style them the right way, they can stay in the line up.

Today I’m posing the question: “To wear leggings or not to wear leggings?”

Leggings are full coverage, so what’s the issue?  Well, I have a few:

1. Although I always make sure they aren’t see-through, are they just too tight for standing at the board in front of high school students?

2. Are they too casual?  The school I’m places at doesn’t seem to have much of a dress code so this might not be an issue.

3. Are they too young?  Will I look too much like a University student? or (heaven forbid) a high school student?

Pairing leggings with a tunic and a longer cardigan solves the “too tight” problem but will I then look too young and frumpy?  Some teacher fashion blogs I’ve read are all for leggings, but they are also elementary school teachers; I won’t be sitting on the ground too often.  The one reason I want to keep leggings in my wardrobe is because they are so great to wear with boots.  I have big calves so wearing skinny jeans in boots has never been an option for me and sometimes I don’t want to wear a skirt.  What I really think would work is a thicker riding pants style of legging, but I am on a strict no-spend diet when it comes to clothes so I will have to work with what I’ve got.

Wore it Well ~

 Shanele from Shanelesheek styled these riding pants perfectly; not too casual and with great colours.  I am going to try to do something similar with my leggings and see how it turns out.

T.B.A. (To Be AVOIDED)~

Rose Byrne (never heard of her) is showing a little too much with these leggings, and that’s only from the front.  Even though she appears to be in decent shape, these pants are doing nothing for her figure.

3 thoughts on “What is appropriate? Leggings

  1. I teach high school English and I unapologetically wear leggings a minimum of three days a week. When worn with a tunic/skirt/long sweater, they look good!

    Anyway, the fact is that you are young, so there is nothing wrong with looking young as long as you are classy. And even despite your best efforts, you may still get mistaken for a student. The other day I was wearing a nice heather grey sweater with black dress pants and studded flats and I was still mistaken for a student by a substitute teacher in my school. At Open House last week I was wearing a dress and a blazer and parents still assumed that I was a student volunteer… even with my wedding ring and teacher nametag on.

    Lastly, what I’ve noticed is that teens these days (at my school, at least) are dressing in a more mature style — a lot of my kids actually wear garments that I covet — and I’d say I have pretty good taste in clothing. So whether it’s that you dress like them or they dress like you, the point is that if you look good, feel good, and aren’t showing your 3 Bs, you’re fine.

  2. Thanks for the comment! I am going to try to work my leggings into some outfits in the coming months. The girls in school are dressing very maturely, it is a bog change from when I was in high school; I think the frist time I wore heels was at my graduation! Thanks for the encouragement, I hope you keep reading 🙂

  3. if you wear leggings, I’m totally going to justify them as appropriate office wear.

    I LOVE the look of leggings + boots + long denim shirt. Classic weekend casual. Probably not work appropriate for either of us, but I LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

